logo-hurrikan Hurrikan Power Funding Holding

In 2007, our former American partner company bought a German portfolio from the Dutch energy provider Essent, which consisted of 65 MW operational wind farms as well as approved 85 MW development projects. The buyer of these activities was Hurrikan Power Funding Holding GmbH.

 

After completion of all of the building projects in November 2009, Hurrikan operated  an operational portfolio of 14 wind farms with an output capacity of over 150 MW. In addition to this, there was an infrastructure company with a larger substation as well as a development project with a capacity of 6 MW.

In 2010, three wind farms from the Hurrikan portfolio with a total capacity of 23.4 MW were sold by aeos energy to an institutional investor, a municipal utility company and a range of significant private investors and in the year 2011, an additional five wind farms with an output of 54.5 MW were also sold. After a refinancing in 2012, aeos energy sold the remaining Hurrikan portfolio to private investors in individual transactions between the end of 2012 and the end of 2013. The development project was partially sold at the end of 2013, with aeos energy still holding a substantial share.

On behalf of our former American partner company, aeos energy conducted the business of Hurrikan Power Funding Holding GmbH and its wind farm companies as well as the infrastructure company. The operational part of our activities included, besides the ongoing business and technical management of the existing windparks, also the monitoring of the construction of wind farm projects which were still in the construction phase from 2008.

The second major part of our activities consisted of investment management for our former American partner company. In acting as an “extended workbench” for the investors, we accomplished the following:

  • The creation of investor reports, preparation of board meetings
  • The creation of bank reports, preparation of bank meetings
  • Strong involvement in the refinancing of the portfolio
  • Sale of the portfolio, piece by piece, in order to achieve the maximum sales revenue

 

logo-petrotank Petrotank Holding GmbH

At the end of 2008, a significant participation in Petrotank Holding GmbH, Bremerhaven, ended for our former American partner company and aeos Energy.

At the time of the acquisition, Petrotank was, in terms of locations, the largest German oil storage company with a group turnover of over €100 million. Furthermore, at the time of acquisition, the Petrotank goup was involved in the areas of mineral oil, ship fuelling, oil recycling and biomass fuels (production and trade).

aeos energy set up the acquisition of the Petrotank Group and oversaw the integration and investment controling on behalf of Petrotank Holding GmbH. Furthermore, aeos energy supplied the head of Petrotank as an interim measure at times and also supported the Petrotank Group in their implementation of their strategic acquisitions projects.

The involvement in Petrotank was sold in two stages to Vitol between the end of 2012 and the end of 2013 and since then the business has been brought into Varo Energy, a downstream joint venture by Vitol and the Carlyle Group.

 

logo-bioD BioD Fuels International GmbH

BioD Fuels International GmbH ran a Bio-Diesel production plant with a yearly capacity of 50,000 tonnes of bio-diesel in Kaufungen near Kassel. The plant was sold in two stages between 2011 and 2013 to KFS – Biodiesel Kassel GmbH & Co. KG. The shareholders of BioD were two financial investors based in the USA. aeos energy took on the role of managing the investment for the investors in 2011.

The production plant in Kaufungen is based on the concept of KOH-esterification, a closed, water-free and and extremely clean process. KFS Kassel produces Bio-Diesel from plant oils and offers its customers BioDiesel conforming to the standard DIN 14214, which corresponds to the seasonal norms (CFPP and CP values).

KFS – Biodiesel Kassel GmbH & Co. KG also offers customer-specific bio-diesel for national and international customers.

logo-hurrikan Hurrikan Power Funding Holding

Unser früheres amerikanisches Partnerunternehmen kaufte im Jahr 2007 vom niederländischen Energieversorger Essent ein deutsches Portfolio bestehend aus 65 MW operativer Windparks sowie 85 MW weitestgehend genehmigter Entwicklungsprojekte. Erwerberin dieser Aktivitäten war dabei die Hurrikan Power Funding Holding GmbH.

 

Hurrikan betrieb nach Fertigstellung aller Bauvorhaben im November 2009 ein operatives Portfolio von 14 Windparks mit einer Leistung von über 150 MW. Darüber hinaus existierte eine Infrastrukturgesellschaft mit einem größeren Umspannwerk sowie  Entwicklungsprojekt mit einer Kapazität von 6 MW.

In 2010 wurden aus dem Hurrikan Portfolio durch aeos energy 3 Windparks mit einer Gesamtkapazität von 23,4 MW und im Jahre 2011 weitere 5 Windparks mit 54,5 MW, an einen institutionellen Investor, ein Stadtwerk und eine Reihe vermögender Privatinvestoren veräußert. Nach einer Refinanzierung im Jahr 2012 veräußerte aeos energy zwischen Ende 2012 und Ende 2013 das restliche Hurrikan-Portfolio in Einzeltransaktionen an vermögende Privatinvestoren. Das Entwicklungsprojekt wurde Ende 2013 teilweise veräußert, aeos energy hält daran selbst noch eine wesentliche Beteiligung.

aeos energy betrieb für unser früheres amerikanisches Partnerunternehmen die Geschäfte der Hurrikan Power Funding Holding GmbH und ihrer Windparkgesellschaften sowie der Infrastrukturgesellschaft. Der operative Teil unserer Teil unserer Tätigkeit umfasste dabei neben der laufenden kaufmännischen und technischen Betriebsführung der bestehenden Windparks auch die Überwachung des Baufortschritts der sich ab 2008 noch in der Errichtung befindlichen Windparkprojekte.

Der zweite wesentliche Teil unserer Tätigkeit bestand aus der Beteiligungsführung im Auftrag unseres früheren amerikanischen Partnerunternehmens. Dabei haben wir als „verlängerte Werkbank“ des Investors folgende Aufgaben erledigt:

  • Erstellung des Investorenreportings, Vorbereitung von Board Meetings
  • Erstellung des Bankenreportings, Vorbereitung von Bankenmeetings
  • Intensive Mitwirkung bei der Refinanzierung des Portfolios
  • Verkauf des Portfolios in Einzelteilen zur Erzielung eines maximalen Verkaufserlöses

 

logo-petrotank Petrotank Holding GmbH

Unsere früheres amerikanischen Partnerunternehmens und aeos energy gingen Ende 2008 eine wesentliche Beteiligung an der Petrotank Holding GmbH, Bremerhaven, ein.

Zum Zeitpunkt des Erwerbs war Petrotank mit einem Gruppenumsatz von über €100 Mio. die nach Standorten größte deutsche Tanklagergesellschaft. Die Petrotank Gruppe war darüber hinaus zum Zeitpunkt des Erwerbs auch in den Geschäftsbereichen Mineralölhandel, Schiffsbetankung, Ölrecycling sowie Biokraftstoffe (Erzeugung und Handel) aktiv.

Die aeos energy arrangierte den Erwerb der Petrotank Gruppe und betrieb im Auftrag unseres amerikanischen Partnerunternehmens die Integration und das Beteiligungscontrolling der Petrotank Holding GmbH. Darüber hinaus stellte aeos energy zeitweise interimistisch den kaufmännischen Leiter von Petrotank und unterstützte darüber hinaus die Petrotank-Gruppe bei der Umsetzung ihrer strategischen Akquisitionsprojekte.

Die Beteiligung an Petrotank wurde zwischen 2012 und Ende 2013 in zwei Schritten an Vitol veräußert, welche das Unternehmen zwischenzeitlich in Varo Energy eingebracht hat, einen Downstream Joint Venture zwischen Vitol und der Carlyle Group.

 

logo-bioD BioD Fuels International GmbH

BioD Fuels International GmbH  betrieb in Kaufungen nahe Kassel eine Bio-Diesel Produktionsanlage mit einer Jahreskapazität von 50.000 Tonnen Biodiesel. Die Anlage wurde zwischen 2011 und 2013 in zwei Schritten an die KFS – Biodiesel Kassel GmbH & Co. KG veräußert. Gesellschafter von BioD waren zwei in den USA ansässige Finanzinvestoren, aeos energy übernahm ab 2011 für die Investoren die Beteiligungsführung.
Die Produktionsanlage in Kaufungen basiert auf den Konzept der KOH-Veresterung, ein geschlossenes, wasserfreies und extrem abfallfreies Verfahren.
KFS Kassel stellt Bio-Diesel aus Pflanzenölen her und bietet seinen Kunden BioDiesel nach der Norm DIN 14214 an, der den jahreszeitlichen Normen (CFPP- und CP-Werte) entspricht.

Darüber wird von KFS – Biodiesel Kassel GmbH & Co. KG auch kundenspezifischer BioDiesel für nationale und internationale Kunden angeboten.